

Executive Committee Zoom Virtual Meeting Meeting Minutes July 8, 2021 8:15 a.m.

Members Present

LOCALITY	NAME	X (attended)
Charles City County	William Coada	Х
Chesterfield County	Christopher M. Winslow, Chair X	
City of Richmond	Dr. Cynthia Newbille	X
Goochland County	Neil Spoonhower, Chair	
Hanover County	Sean Davis, Vice Chair, Canova Peterson	
Henrico County	Reverend Tyrone Nelson	
New Kent County	Patricia Paige, Secretary	
Powhatan County	Michael Byerly, Treasurer	
Town of Ashland	Dr. Daniel McGraw X	

Others Present

Eric Gregory......Hefty, Wiley & Gore, PC

Staff Present

Martha Heeter	Executive Director
Diane Fusco	Office Manager
Sidd Kumar	Project Coordinator

The PlanRVA Executive Committee meeting was held using electronic communication means. The technology used for this meeting was a web-hosted service created by Zoom. The meeting was available via live stream through YouTube to assure open access for members of the public. All recordings are available on the <u>Plan RVA YouTube Channel</u> at <u>www.youtube.com/PlanRVA</u>.

Call to Order

Mr. Spoonhower called the PlanRVA Executive Committee meeting to order at approximately 8:15 a.m.

Attendance Roll Call & Certification of a Quorum

Ms. Heeter took attendance by roll call and confirmed a quorum of the body was present.



Meeting Minutes

Mr. Davis made motion to approve the meeting minutes included in the packet. Ms. Paige seconded the motion which was approved by vote of unanimous acclamation.

FY2021 Review

Mr. Spoonhower gave brief remarks summarizing the Commission's and specifically the Executive Committee's accomplishments in FY2021.

Proposal: Immersion 2.0 Executive Committee Conversation

Mr. Winslow introduced the item. Staff coordinated through Mr. Berkey (tenant advisor) to engage Baskervill in developing a scope of work for finalizing the Commission's space needs assessment. The Scope includes a facilitated workshop with members of the Executive Committee to set priorities and parameters for the process. Mr. Spoonhower made a motion to authorize the Executive Director to execute the Scope of Work as presented and to schedule a work session for the Executive Committee (with invitation to Committee chairs and members of the Finance Committee) in August. Dr. Newbille seconded the motion which was carried unanimously.

a. FY2022 Key Imperatives (Winslow)

Ms. Heeter reviewed the key imperatives and asked for comments with intention of bringing back in September for recommendation to the advance to the full Commission for approval.

b. FY2022 Meeting Schedule and Priorities (Winslow)

Ms. Heeter presented a proposed meeting schedule for review by members of the Executive Committee and for recommendation of the full Commission schedule for approval. Mr. Winslow briefly shared his intentions to incorporate a section in the agendas for local updates on innovations in planning; the first will be from Chesterfield in September. Dr. McGraw made a motion to approve the FY2022 PlanRVA Executive Committee meeting schedule and to recommend the FY2022 PlanRVA Regional Commission schedule for approval.

c. FY2022 Committee Appointments (Winslow)

Ms. Heeter gave an overview of the process for appointing members to committees of the Commission. She announced that Mr. Holland and Mr. Davey have agreed to continue serving as Chairs of the Audit, Facilities & Finance and Public Outreach and Engagement Committees respectively.

FY21 members returning to the Commission in FY22 of the Finance Committee are recommended to continue if agreeable for FY22:

- Mr. Holland (Chesterfield)
- Mrs. O'Bannon (Henrico)



- Mrs. Paige (New Kent)
- Mr. Peterson (Hanover)
- Mr. Winslow (ex-officio)

Staff also recommended Mr. Byerly (Powhatan) join the committee in his capacity as Treasurer for FY2022. Mrs. Paige advised her preference to step down from the Finance Committee considering another smaller jurisdiction representative joining (Mr. Byerly). Dr. Newbille also advised that she will coordinate with her peers on Council to identify a representative for the City of Richmond.

FY21 members returning to the Commission in FY22 of the Public Outreach and Engagement Committee are recommended to continue if agreeable for FY22:

- Mr. Davey (Chesterfield)
- Mr. Thornton (Henrico)
- Mr. Winslow (ex-officio)

Staff will work with Chairman Winslow to identify the final proposed slate of members for presentation at the September meeting.

With no other business, the Executive Committee adjourned at 8:55 am.