

e: PlanRVA@PlanRVA.org

**p:** 804.323.2033

w: www.PlanRVA.org

# PlanRVA Commission Meeting Minutes December 14, 2023 – 9:00 a.m. PlanRVA James River Boardroom, 424 Hull Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23224

## **Members Present (A = Alternate)**

Town of Ashland		Goochland County		New Kent County	
Brent Chambers	X	Charlie Vaughters		John Lockwood (A)	
Dr. Daniel McGraw	X	Neil Spoonhower		Amy Pearson	X
Kathy Abbott (A)		Hanover County		Powhatan County	
<b>Charles City County</b>		Sean Davis, Vice Chair	X	Michael Byerly	X
Byron Adkins	X	Canova Peterson	X	Steve McClung	X
William Coada		Faye Prichard (A)		Bobby Hall	X
<b>Chesterfield County</b>		Charlie Waddell	X	City of Richmond	
Kevin Carroll	X	Randy Whittaker		Andreas Addison	
Dr. Mark Miller	X	Henrico County		Dr. Cynthia Newbille	X
Tim Davey	X	Gregory Baka	X	Ellen Robertson (A)	
Gloria Freye		Tyrone Nelson		Rodney Poole	
James Holland	X	Patricia O'Bannon	Х	Jacob Giovia	
Jim Ingle	X	Frank Thornton	Х		
Chris Winslow	X	Melissa Thornton			

The technology used for the meeting was a web-hosted service created by Zoom and YouTube Live Streaming and was open and accessible for participation by members of the public. A recording of this meeting is available on our <u>Plan RVA YouTube Channel</u>.

#### Welcome and Introductions

Vice Chair Davis called the meeting to order at approximately 9:08 a.m.

## Roll Call of Attendees and Certification of a Quorum

Janice Scott, Board Relations Manager, called the roll for attendance and certified that a physical quorum was present.

#### 2023 Year in Review

Vice Chair Davis commented on the work being done around the region by the individual localities and the level of public service represented by the individuals in the room.

He shared his thoughts and remembrances of Patricia Paige. A moment of silence was observed in her honor. Committee members also shared their thoughts on Mrs. Paige.

On motion by W. Canova Peterson, seconded by Kevin Carroll, the members of the Commission voted to issue a letter of support to the Commonwealth Transportation Board in support of New Kent County's petition to have a portion of I64 in New Kent County named in honor of Patricia Paige.

Vice Chair Davis reviewed the accomplishments of the past year, including the move to the news space, the number of groups that have utilized the new office space and the CVTA hiring Chet Parsons as its first Executive Director.

Martha Shickle, Executive Director, came forward and provided a recap of other accomplishments for the year.

## **Special Recognitions**

Vice Chair Davis introduced Ryan Patterson, Charles City County Board of Supervisors and welcomed him to the Commission.

The following out-going commissioners were called forward and presented with a plaque in appreciation of their service:

- Michael Byerly
- Patricia O'Bannon
- W. Canova Peterson
- Frank J. Thornton
- Christopher Winslow

The members shared comments on their time on the commission.

### **Commissioner Reflections**

Vice Chair Davis invited commissioners to share comments.

- Noted this is the strongest place to advocate as a region in support of funding the JLARC study.
- Jim Holland shared thoughts on the importance of promoting literacy and funding public education.
- Andreas Addison commented on the important contributions of the commission in many areas and shared Mr. Holland's support of promoting education funding. He also commented on the combined years of experience and service amongst the out-going commissioners.

Vice Chair Davis closed the reflection period by thanking his fellow commissioners for their service and, in particular, Jim Holland, for his service on the Audit, Facilities and Finance Committee.

#### Adjourn

Vice Chair Davis adjourned the meeting at 12:01 p.m.