

Executive Committee Meeting Minutes

August 1, 2024 – 8:30 a.m.

PlanRVA James River Boardroom, 424 Hull Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23224 and via Zoom

LOCALITY	NAME	X (attended)
Town of Ashland	Dr. Daniel McGraw, Chair	X
Charles City County	Byron Adkins	X
Chesterfield County	Jim Ingle	X
Goochland County	Neil Spoonhower	X
Hanover County	Sean Davis	X
Henrico County	Reverend Tyrone Nelson	
New Kent County	Jordan Stewart, Vice Chair	X
Powhatan County	Steve McClung	X
City of Richmond	Dr. Cynthia Newbille	X

The technology used for the PlanRVA Executive Committee meeting was a web-hosted service created by Zoom and YouTube Live Streaming and was open and accessible for participation by members of the public. A recording of this meeting is available on our <u>Plan RVA YouTube Channel</u>.

Welcome and Introductions

Chair McGraw called the meeting to order at 8:33 a.m. and welcomed all attendees.

Roll Call and Certification of a Quorum

Janice Scott, Board Relations Manager, took roll call of attendees and certified a quorum was present.

1. Administration Items

a. Confirmation of Member Participation from a Remote Location

There were no members participating remotely.

b. Agenda Amendments / Approval

There were no requested amendments to the agenda.

c. Public Comments

There were no public comments received or requests to address the Committee.

d. Approval of April 11, 2024, Meeting Minutes

On motion by Jim Ingle, seconded by Sean Davis, the members of the PlanRVA Executive Committee voted to approve the meeting minutes as presented (voice vote).

2. Personnel Items

a. Closed Session

Jordan Stewart made a motion, seconded by Cynthia Newbille, to convene in closed session pursuant to Virginia Freedom of Information Act Section 2.2-3711 (A) (1), for the purpose of discussing personnel matters, during which all recording of the meeting will cease, the members of the PlanRVA Executive Committee voted unanimously to enter closed session (voice vote).

The Commissioners entered closed session at approximately 8:49 a.m. At the conclusion of the closed session, the Chair called the regular meeting back to order at 9:21 a.m.

Note: Byron Adkins left the meeting during the closed session at 9:01 a.m.

Certification of Closed Session

The members of the PlanRVA Executive Committee each voted to certify that, to the best of their knowledge, only public matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements and that only such public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the closed session was convened, were heard, discussed, or considered (roll call vote; see below):

Name	Vote:
Dr. Daniel McGraw, Chair	Aye
Byron Adkins	Aye
Jim Ingle	Aye
Neil Spoonhower	Aye
Sean Davis	Aye
Jordan Stewart, Vice Chair	Aye
Steve McClung	Aye
Dr. Cynthia Newbille	Aye

On motion by Cynthia Newbille, seconded by Jim Ingle, the members of the PlanRVA Executive Committee each voted to set the compensation level for the Executive Director of the Richmond Regional Transportation Planning Organization (RRTPO) at \$225,000 (roll call vote; see below):

Name	Vote:
Dr. Daniel McGraw, Chair	Aye
Byron Adkins	Aye
Jim Ingle	Ауе
Neil Spoonhower	Ауе
Sean Davis	Ауе
Jordan Stewart, Vice Chair	Ауе
Steve McClung	Ауе
Dr. Cynthia Newbille	Aye

Agency Strategy/ Regional Strategic Plan

a. Debrief June 13, 2024, Joint Annual Meeting

Martha Shickle, Executive Director, opened a discussion about the meeting that was held in June and distributed a document highlighting key

Chair McGraw indicated he would like to see the Commission explore the issues of homelessness and drug use. Cynthia Newbille reported that Richmond is currently in discussions on those issues and she welcomes the opportunity to be part of the Commission's discussion.

Adjournment

Chair McGraw adjourned the meeting at 9:27 a.m.