

e: PlanRVA@PlanRVA.org

**p:** 804.323.2033

w: www.PlanRVA.org

### **Executive Committee Meeting Minutes**

July 13, 2023 – 8:30 a.m.

# PlanRVA James River Boardroom, 424 Hull Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23224 and via Zoom

LOCALITY	<u>NAME</u>	X (attended)
Charles City County	Byron Adkins	X
Chesterfield County	Christopher M. Winslow	
City of Richmond	Dr. Cynthia Newbille (virtual)	X
Goochland County	Charlie Vaughters	
Hanover County	Sean Davis, Chair	X
Henrico County	Reverend Tyrone Nelson	
New Kent County	Patricia Paige	X
Powhatan County	Michael Byerly, Vice Chair	X
Town of Ashland	Dr. Daniel McGraw, Secretary	X

The technology used for the PlanRVA Executive Committee meeting was a web-hosted service created by Zoom and YouTube Live Streaming and was open and accessible for participation by members of the public. A recording of this meeting is available on our <u>Plan RVA YouTube Channel</u>.

#### Welcome and Introductions

Chair Davis called the meeting to order at 8:32 a.m.

#### **Roll Call and Certification of a Quorum**

Janice Firestone, Program Manager, took roll call of attendees and certified a quorum was present.

## 1. Administration

#### a. Confirmation of Member Participation from a Remote Location

Chair Davis announced that one member requested approval to participate remotely:

• Cynthia Newbille. Reason: a family member's medical condition that requires the member to provide care for such family member.

Chair Davis announced his approval of the request to participate remotely.

On motion by Sean M. Davis, seconded by Daniel McGraw, the members of the Executive Committee voted to approve the member's request to participate from a remote location were in conformance with the PlanRVA Policy for Remote Participation of members; and, the voice of the remotely participating member could be heard by all persons at the primary or central meeting location (voice vote).

The guorum was updated to show the presence of the remote member.

#### **b.** Public Comments

There were no public comments received or requests to address the Commission.

### 2. Agenda Amendments/Approval

Daniel McGraw made a motion, seconded by Cynthia I. Newbille, to approve the meeting agenda as presented. The motion was approved (voice vote).

### 3. Request for Approval of May 12 and June 8, 2023, meeting minutes

Byron Adkins made a motion, seconded by Michael Byerly, to approve the May 12, 2023, meeting minutes as presented. The motion was approved (voice vote).

Byron Adkins made a motion, seconded by Michael Byerly, to approve the May 12, 2023, meeting minutes as presented. The motion was approved (voice vote; Cynthia Newbille abstained).

# 4. Nominating Committee

Chair Davis recapped the efforts to ensure continuity for the Commission. The matter will be on the full Commission agenda today for action to elect Commission leadership.

#### 5. Other Business

Chair Davis opened a discussion on Committee Appointments and read a list of recommendations by Martha Shickle, Executive Director.

There was no other business brought forward by committee members.

# 6. Adjournment

Chair Davis adjourned the meeting at 8:40 a.m.