

e: PlanRVA@PlanRVA.org

**p:** 804.323.2033

w: www.PlanRVA.org

#### **Executive Committee Meeting Minutes**

May 12, 2023 – 9:00 a.m.

## PlanRVA James River Boardroom, 424 Hull Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23224 and via Zoom

LOCALITY	<u>NAME</u>	X (attended)
Charles City County	Byron Adkins	X
Chesterfield County	Christopher M. Winslow	
City of Richmond	Dr. Cynthia Newbille	X
Goochland County	Neil Spoonhower (remote)	X
Hanover County	Sean Davis, Chair	X
Henrico County	Reverend Tyrone Nelson (remote)	X
New Kent County	Patricia Paige	X
Powhatan County	Michael Byerly, Vice Chair	Х
Town of Ashland	Dr. Daniel McGraw, Secretary	X

The technology used for the PlanRVA Executive Committee meeting was a web-hosted service created by Zoom and YouTube Live Streaming and was open and accessible for participation by members of the public. A recording of this meeting is available on our <u>Plan RVA YouTube Channel</u>. Virtual participation of this meeting by members of the Executive Committee is authorized under the City of Richmond Res. No. 2020-R025, - declaration of a local emergency due to the potential spread of COVID-19, adopted March 16, 2020. The resolution is available <u>here</u>.

#### **Welcome and Introductions**

Chair Davis called the meeting to order at 9:10 a.m.

#### **Roll Call and Certification of a Quorum**

Janice Firestone, Program Manager, took roll call of attendees and certified a quorum was present.

#### 1. Administration

Chair Davis announced that the reason for the meeting is to review and take action on the directives of the organization. A Services and Contracts Committee is being formed to review all PlanRVA contracts for services. There was a consensus to form the committee.

#### a. Confirmation of Member Participation from a Remote Location

Chair Davis announced that there were reported that five members and alternates requested approval to participate remotely:

• Tyrone Nelson. Reason: personal matter, specifically a scheduling conflict that prevents his attendance in-person.

• Neil Spoonhower. Reason: personal matter, specifically a scheduling conflict that prevents his attendance in-person.

Chair Davis announced his approval of the requests to participate remotely.

On motion by Sean M. Davis, the members of the Executive Committee voted to approve the members' requests to participate from a remote location were in conformance with the PlanRVA Policy for Remote Participation of members; and, the voice of the remotely participating members could be heard by all persons at the primary or central meeting location (voice vote).

The quorum was updated to show the presence of the remote members.

#### **b.** Public Comments

There were no public comments received or requests to address the Commission.

## 2. Agenda Amendments/Approval

Daniel McGraw made a motion, seconded by Cynthia I. Newbille, to approve the meeting agenda as presented. The motion was approved (voice vote).

## 3. Request for Approval of April 13, 2023, meeting minutes

Daniel McGraw made a motion, seconded by Cynthia I. Newbille, to approve the meeting minutes as presented. The motion was approved (voice vote; Byron Adkins and Patricia Paige abstained).

#### 4. Directed Priority Initiatives

## a. Employee Compensation

Chair Davis explained the proposed 10% salary increase for employees and offered to answer any questions.

### b. Local Technical Assistance to Localities

Chair Davis reported that this has been a priority for the full Commission.

#### c. Staff Capacity

Chair Davis reported that many localities have requested information assistance from PlanRVA staff. A bookkeeper position, two planners and a grant writer/administrative position are fully funded and will help to meet the goal of providing local technical assistance to localities.

Committee members had questions about the transportation positions not being under the Richmond Regional Transportation Planning Organization (RRTPO). Martha Shickle reported that the RRTPO does not have any direct employees; they utilize PlanRVA staff through a contract.

#### **5. Contracted Services Review Committee**

Chair Davis announced that a Services and Contracts Committee is being formed to review all PlanRVA contracts for services. There was a consensus to form the committee.

#### 6. Closed Session

On motion by Michael Bylerly, seconded by Cynthia I. Newbille, the members of the Executive Committee voted to convene to enter a closed session pursuant to FOIA Sect. 2.2-3711(A)(1) for the purpose of discussing personnel matters concerning Commission employees (voice vote).

Committee members entered Closed Session at approximately 9:18 a.m. Following the Closed Session, the Chair called the regular meeting back to order at approximately 9:32 a.m.

## **Certification of Closed Session**

On motion by Sean M. Davis, the Executive Committee members voted to certify that during the Closed Session only public business matters lawfully exempted from the open meeting requirement of the Freedom of Information Act and only such public business matters as were identified in the motion for the Closed Session were discussed (roll call vote).

LOCALITY	NAME	<u>VOTE</u>
<b>Charles City County</b>	Byron Adkins	Aye
<b>Chesterfield County</b>	Christopher M. Winslow	Absent
City of Richmond	Dr. Cynthia Newbille	Aye
<b>Goochland County</b>	Neil Spoonhower	Absent
<b>Hanover County</b>	Sean Davis, Chair	Aye
Henrico County	Reverend Tyrone Nelson	Aye
New Kent County	Patricia Paige	Aye
<b>Powhatan County</b>	Michael Byerly, Vice Chair	Aye
Town of Ashland	Dr. Daniel McGraw, Secretary	Aye

### 7. FY2024 Budget and Work Program

Vice Chair Byerly announced that the performance of the Executive Director has been exemplary.

On motion by Michael Byerly, seconded by Cynthia I. Newbille, the members of the Executive Committee voted to increase the annual salary of the Executive Director to \$177,511 effective July 1, 2023.

LOCALITY	NAME	VOTE
Charles City County	Byron Adkins	Aye
Chesterfield County	Christopher M. Winslow	Absent
City of Richmond	Dr. Cynthia Newbille	Aye
Goochland County	Neil Spoonhower	Absent
Hanover County	Sean Davis, Chair	Aye
Henrico County	Reverend Tyrone Nelson	Aye
New Kent County	Patricia Paige	Aye
Powhatan County	Michael Byerly, Vice Chair	Aye
Town of Ashland	Dr. Daniel McGraw, Secretary	Aye

On motion by Michael Byerly, seconded by Cynthia I. Newbille, the members of the Executive Committee voted to recommend adoption of the FY2024 Budget as presented (roll call vote) with incorporation of Directed Priority Initiatives.

LOCALITY	NAME	VOTE
<b>Charles City County</b>	Byron Adkins	Aye
<b>Chesterfield County</b>	Christopher M. Winslow	Absent
City of Richmond	Dr. Cynthia Newbille	Aye
Goochland County	Neil Spoonhower	Absent
Hanover County	Sean Davis, Chair	Aye
Henrico County	Reverend Tyrone Nelson	Aye
New Kent County	Patricia Paige	Aye
Powhatan County	Michael Byerly, Vice Chair	Aye
Town of Ashland	Dr. Daniel McGraw, Secretary	Aye

# 8. Other Business

There was no other business brought forward by committee members.

# 9. Adjournment

Chair Davis adjourned the meeting at 9:34 a.m.