

# **Executive Committee Meeting Minutes**

## April 13, 2023 – 8:30 a.m.

### PlanRVA James River Boardroom, 424 Hull Street, Suite 300,

#### Richmond, VA 23224 and via Zoom

LOCALITY	NAME	X (attended)
Charles City County	William Coada	
Chesterfield County	Christopher M. Winslow	Х
City of Richmond	Dr. Cynthia Newbille	Х
Goochland County	Charlie Vaughters	
Hanover County	Sean Davis, Chair	Х
Henrico County	Reverend Tyrone Nelson	Х
New Kent County	Patricia Paige	
Powhatan County	Michael Byerly, Vice Chair	Х
Town of Ashland	Dr. Daniel McGraw, Secretary	Х

The technology used for the PlanRVA Executive Committee meeting was a web-hosted service created by Zoom and YouTube Live Streaming and was open and accessible for participation by members of the public. A recording of this meeting is available on our <u>Plan RVA YouTube Channel</u>. Virtual participation of this meeting by members of the Executive Committee is authorized under the City of Richmond Res. No. 2020-R025, - declaration of a local emergency due to the potential spread of COVID-19, adopted March 16, 2020. The resolution is available <u>here</u>.

#### Welcome and Introductions

Chair Davis called the meeting to order at approximately 8:35 a.m.

#### Roll Call and Certification of a Quorum

Janice Firestone, Program Manager, took roll call of attendees and certified a quorum was present.

#### 1. Administration

- a. Confirmation of Member Participation from a Remote Location Chair Davis announced that there were no members participating remotely.
- b. Public Comments

There were no public comments received or requests to address the Commission.

#### 2. Agenda Amendments/Approval

Christopher Winslow made a motion, seconded by Cynthia I. Newbille, to approve the meeting agenda as presented. The motion was approved (voice vote).

#### 3. Request for Approval of March 9, 2023, meeting minutes

Daniel McGraw made a motion, seconded by Cynthia I. Newbille, to approve the meeting minutes as presented. The motion was approved (voice vote).

Ashland | Charles City | Chesterfield | Goochland | Hanover | Henrico | New Kent | Powhatan | Richmond Richmond Regional Planning District Commission | 424 Hull Street, Suite 300 | Richmond, VA 23224 PlanRVA Executive Committee Minutes – page 1

#### 4. Personnel Discussion

Martha Shickle reported that staff is finalizing FY23 projections to include one-time adjustments (bonus pool) to be awarded at FY23 year end.

Staff is also finalizing the draft FY24 budget which include new positions as well as salary increases. Currently modeling increases are based on Henrico and Richmond (8%) and working to incorporate the following capabilities: bookkeeping (transition from contract to FTE), administrative support, grant writing and planning (2).

Tyrone Nelson arrived at 8:49 a.m.

Committee members discussed the issuance of the one-time bonus and the importance of remaining competitive as an employer. There was a consensus to move forward with the bonuses.

#### 5. FY2024 Closed Session

On motion by Sean M. Davis, seconded by Cynthia I. Newbille, the members of the Executive Committee voted to convene to enter a closed session pursuant to FOIA Sect. 2.2-3711(A)(29) to discuss a contract involving the expenditure of public funds.

Committee members entered Closed Session at approximately 8:50 a.m. At the conclusion of the Closed Session, the Chair called the regular meeting back to order at approximately 9:17 a.m.

#### Certification of Closed Session

On motion by Sean M. Davis, the Executive Committee members voted to certify that during the Closed Session only public business matters lawfully exempted from the open meeting requirement of the Freedom of Information Act and only such public business matters as were identified in the motion for the Closed Session were discussed (roll call vote).

LOCALITY	NAME	<u>VOTE</u>
Charles City County	William Coada	Absent
Chesterfield County	Christopher M. Winslow	Absent
City of Richmond	Dr. Cynthia Newbille	Aye
Goochland County	Charlie Vaughters	Absent
Hanover County	Sean Davis, Chair	Aye
Henrico County	Reverend Tyrone Nelson	Aye
New Kent County	Patricia Paige	Absent
Powhatan County	Michael Byerly, Vice Chair	Aye
Town of Ashland	Dr. Daniel McGraw, Secretary	Aye

# 6. FY2024 Officer Election Discussion – continuation of current rotation or formation of Nominating Committee

This item will be moved to the May Executive Committee meeting.

#### 7. Adjournment

Chair Davis adjourned the meeting at 9:20 a.m.