

e: PlanRVA@PlanRVA.org

**p:** 804.323.2033

w: www.PlanRVA.org

# **Executive Committee Meeting Minutes**

April 11, 2024 - 8:30 a.m.

# PlanRVA James River Boardroom, 424 Hull Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23224 and via Zoom

<u>LOCALITY</u>	NAME.	X (attended)
Town of Ashland	Dr. Daniel McGraw, Secretary (virtual)	Χ
Charles City County	Byron Adkins	Χ
Chesterfield County	Jim Ingle	Χ
Goochland County	Neil Spoonhower	
Hanover County	Sean Davis, Vice Chair	Χ
Henrico County	Reverend Tyrone Nelson	Χ
New Kent County	Jordan Stewart	Χ
Powhatan County	Steve McClung	Χ
City of Richmond	Dr. Cynthia Newbille	Χ

The technology used for the PlanRVA Executive Committee meeting was a web-hosted service created by Zoom and YouTube Live Streaming and was open and accessible for participation by members of the public. A recording of this meeting is available on our <u>Plan RVA YouTube Channel</u>.

#### **Welcome and Introductions**

Vice Chair Davis called the meeting to order at 8:35 a.m. and welcomed all attendees.

# **Roll Call and Certification of a Quorum**

Janice Scott, Board Relations Manager, took roll call of attendees and certified a quorum was present.

# 1. Administration Items

# a. Confirmation of Member Participation from a Remote Location

Vice Chair Davis announced his approval of the request of Daniel McGraw to participate remotely in the meeting for the following reason: A personal matter, specifically a scheduling conflict that prevents attendance in-person.

The members of the PlanRVA Executive Committee voted unanimously to confirm that the Vice Chair's decision to approve the member's requests to participate from a remote location was in conformance with the PlanRVA Policy for Remote Participation of Members; and, the voice of the remotely participating member could be heard by all persons at the primary or central meeting location. (voice vote).

The quorum was updated to show the presence of the remote member.

# b. Agenda Amendments / Approval

There were no requested amendments to the agenda.

#### c. Public Comments

There were no public comments received or requests to address the Committee.

#### d. Approval of February 8, 2024, Meeting Minutes

On motion by Cynthia Newbille, seconded by Byron Adkins, the members of the PlanRVA Executive Committee voted to approve the meeting minutes as presented (voice vote).

#### e. FY2024 Meeting Schedule

On motion by Byron Adkins, seconded by Steve McClung, the members of the PlanRVA Executive Committee voted to recommend the Commission cancel the May 9, 2024, Executive Committee meeting (voice vote).

#### f. FY2024 Officer Elections

Vice Chair Davis explained that officer elections need to be held for the remainder of the fiscal year. The proposed leadership is as follows:

Chair, Sean Davis

Vice Chair, Daniel McGraw

Treasurer, Jordan Stewart

Secretary, Byron Adkins

# g. FY2025 Nominating Committee Appointments

Vice Chair Davis appointed the following members to the Nominating Committee:

Byron Adkins

Jim Ingle, Chair

Steve McClung

Cynthia Newbille

#### 2. Financial Updates

#### a. FY2024 Budget Update

Martha Shickle, Executive Director, presented the proposed FY2024 Budget update to the committee.

# 3. Personnel Items

# a. Closed Session

Sean Davis made a motion to convene in closed session pursuant to Virginia Freedom of Information Act Section 2.2-3711 (A) (1), for the purpose of discussing personnel matters, during which all recording of the meeting will cease, the members of the PlanRVA Executive Committee voted unanimously to enter closed session (voice vote).

Note: Tyrone Nelson arrived at the meeting at 8:49 a.m.

The Commissioners entered closed session at approximately 8:49 a.m. At the conclusion of the closed session, the Vice Chair called the regular meeting back to order at 9:40 a.m.

# Certification of Closed Session

On motion by Sean Davis, seconded by Byron Adkins, the members of the PlanRVA Executive Committee each voted to certify that, to the best of their knowledge, only public matters lawfully exempted from open meeting requirements and that only such public business matters as were identified in the motion by which the closed session was convened, were heard, discussed, or considered.

# b. PlanRVA Succession Management Plan Update

On motion by Cynthia Newbille, seconded by Steve McClung, the members of the PlanRVA Executive Committee voted to recommend the Commission appoint Martha Shickle as Interim Executive Director of the Richmond Regional Transportation Planning Organization effective April 11, 2024. The Executive Committee members will review compensation packages prior to July 1, 2024. During the interim period, Ms. Shickle will receive compensation; that compensation will be paid retroactively (voice vote).

# 4. Agency Strategy

- a. JLARC Report on K-12 Funding
- b. FY2025 Work Program & Budget Priorities

Due to time constraints, these items were not heard.

# Adjournment

Vice Chair Davis adjourned the meeting at 9:43 a.m.