





JOINT ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES

Central Virginia Transportation Authority (CVTA) PlanRVA Commission Richmond Regional Transportation Planning Organization (RRTPO) Policy Board

Thursday, June 13, 2024, 9:00 a.m.

PlanRVA James River Boardroom, 424 Hull Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23224

MEMBERS and ALTERNATES PRESENT (X):

Town of Ashland		Henrico County	
Anita Barnhart, RRTPO		Chris Bast, PlanRVA	X
Brent Chambers, PlanRVA	X	Roscoe Cooper, PlanRVA, RRTPO	X
Steve Trivett, PlanRVA		Tyrone Nelson, CVTA, PlanRVA	
John H. Hodges, CVTA, RRTPO,		Jody Rogish, PlanRVA, RRTPO	X
Daniel McGraw, CVTA, PlanRVA	Х	Dan Schmitt, PlanRVA, RRTPO	
Charles City County		Misty Whitehead, PlanRVA	
Byron M. Adkins, Sr., CVTA, PlanRVA, RRTPO	X	William Mackey, PlanRVA	X
Ryan Patterson, CVTA, PlanRVA, RRTPO		New Kent County	
		John Moyer, CVTA, RRTPO	X
Chesterfield County		Jordan Stewart, PlanRVA, RRTPO	X
Kevin P. Carroll, CVTA, PlanRVA, RRTPO	Х	Amy Pearson, CVTA, PlanRVA	
Tim Davey, PlanRVA		Milton Hathaway, PlanRVA	
James Holland, Chair, RRTPO , CVTA, PlanRVA	X	Powhatan County	
James Ingle, PlanRVA	X	Bill Donati, PlanRVA	X
Mark S. Miller, PlanRVA, RRTPO	Х		
Frank Petroski, PlanRVA	Х	Bobby Hall, PlanRVA	
Jessica Schneider, CVTA, RRTPO, PlanRVA	X	Steve McClung, CVTA, PlanRVA, RRTPO	
Goochland County		Jessica Winall, PlanRVA	
Jonathan Lyle, PlanRVA, RRTPO	Х	Denise Morissette, RRTPO	
Neil Spoonhower, CVTA, PlanRVA		Mark Kinney, CVTA, RRTPO	
Tom Winfree, RRTPO		Bob Powers, PlanRVA, RRTPO	
Charlie Vaughters, PlanRVA, RRTPO		City of Richmond	
Hanover County		Andreas D. Addison, PlanRVA, RRTPO	
Sean M. Davis, CVTA, Chair, PlanRVA , RRTPO	X	Cameron George, PlanRVA	X
Ryan Hudson, CVTA, RRTPO		Katherine L. Jordan, RRTPO	
Larry Leadbetter, PlanRVA	Х	Cynthia I. Newbille, PlanRVA, RRTPO	X
Faye O. Prichard, PlanRVA, RRTPO		Kristen Nye, CVTA, RRTPO	
Charlie Waddell, PlanRVA	X	Rodney Poole, PlanRVA	X
		Ellen F. Robertson, PlanRVA, RRTPO	
		Mayor Levar M. Stoney, CVTA	X

MEMBERS and ALTERNATES PRESENT (X) continued:

Capital Region Airport Commission		RRTPO Community Transportation Advisory Committee (CTAC)	
Perry Miller, CVTA	Х	Sera Erickson, RRTPO	
John B. Rutledge, CVTA, RRTPO		Senate of Virginia	
Commonwealth Transportation Board		Senator Ghazala F. Hashmi, CVTA	X
J. Rex Davis, CVTA	Х	Virginia Department. of Aviation	
Federal Highway Administration		Rusty Harrington, RRTPO	X
Thomas L. Nelson Jr., RRTPO		Virginia Department of Transportation	
Ivan Rucker, RRTPO	Х	Stephen Brich, CVTA	
Federal Transit Administration		Dale Totten, CVTA, RRTPO	X
Daniel Koenig (Liaison), RRTPO		Mark E. Riblett, CVTA, RRTPO	X
GRTC Transit System		Virginia Department of Rail and Public	
		Transportation	
Sheryl Adams, CVTA, RRTPO	Х	Tiffany T. Dubinsky, RRTPO	X
Adrienne Torres, CVTA, RRTPO		Zach Trogdon, CVTA	X
RIC Metropolitan Transp. Authority		Daniel Sonenklar, RRTPO	
Joi Taylor Dean, CVTA, RRTPO	Х	Virginia House of Delegates	
RideFinders		Delegate Rae Cousins, CVTA	X
Cherika N. Ruffin, RRTPO		Virginia Port Authority	
John O'Keefe, RRTPO		Stephen Edwards, CVTA	
		Cathie Vick, CVTA	
		Barbara Nelson, CVTA	

Call to Order

Sean M. Davis, Chair, PlanRVA Commission, called the meeting to order at approximately 8:30 a.m.

Pledge of Allegiance

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Chair Davis.

Welcome and Introductions

Chair Davis welcomed all attendees and expressed his appreciation to Chair Levar Stoney, CVTA, Chair James Holland, RRTPO, and Martha Shickle, Executive Director, PlanRVA. Ms. Shickle and Chet Parsons, CVTA Executive Director, came forward and gave an overview of the Coalescing our Regional Vision activity that would be led by John Thomas, moderator of the program. Ms. Shickle explained that the key themes to be explored are infrastructure, environment, housing, health and safety, economic vitality and equitable opportunity and choice.

Coalescing our Regional Vision

Mr. Thomas invited attendees to participate in an activity geared toward setting the stage for the Regional Strategic plan. The key elements of the strategic plan were discussed and participants shared the activity results.

PlanRVA Administrative Items

PlanRVA FY25 Work Program and Budget

Ms. Shickle provided an overview of the PlanRVA proposed FY25 key work program and the budget. She reported that the budget was developed based on the following key imperatives:

- Regional Strategic Plan
- Regional Convenor
- Local Technical Assistance
- Regional Data Center/Hub
- Compliance & Agency Sustainability

On motion by Jim Holland, seconded by Cynthia Newbille, the members of the PlanRVA Commission voted unanimously to adopt the FY25 Work Program and Budget (voice vote).

PlanRVA FY25 Election of Officers & Meeting Schedule Approval

Chair Davis expressed his appreciation for having had the opportunity to serve as Chair. He reported the Nominating Committee has made the following recommendations: Daniel McGraw, Chair, Jordan Stewart, Vice Chair, Byron Adkins, Treasurer, Cynthia Newbille, Secretary.

On motion by Roscoe Cooper, seconded by Jessica Schneider, the members of the PlanRVA Commission voted unanimously to appoint the following FY25 officers: Daniel McGraw, Chair, Jordan Stewart, Vice Chair, Byron Adkins, Treasurer, Cynthia Newbille, Secretary: (voice vote).

Chair Davis asked Chair Holland of the RRTPO to come forward and speak regarding the appointment of Martha Shickle as RRTPO Executive Director.

On motion by Tyrone Nelson, seconded by Cynthia Newbille, the members of the PlanRVA Commission voted unanimously to appoint Martha Shickle as RRTPO Executive Director (voice vote).

RRTPO Administrative Items

Chair Holland expressed his appreciation for having had the opportunity to serve as Chair.

Consent Agenda

Myles Busching, RRTPO Secretary, provided an overview of the items on the consent agenda.

On motion by Jessica Schneider, seconded by John Moyer, the members of the RRTPO Policy Board voted unanimously to approve the following consent agenda items (voice vote):

- C.-1. FY24 FY27 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Atlee Station Rd Widening, Phase 2 (UPC 115195)
- C.-2. FY24 FY27 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Transforming Rail in Virginia/VPRA (UPC 124309)

RRTPO FY25 Election of Officers & Meeting Schedule Approval

On motion by Kevin Carroll, seconded by Jonathan Lyle, the members of the RRTPO Policy Board voted unanimously to elect the following FY25 Officers: Cynthia Newbille, Chair, Jody Rogish, Vice Chair, Martha Shickle, Secretary (voice vote).

Special Recognitions

Chair Davis announced Myles Busching as the Employee of the Year. Mr. Busching was presented with a basket in recognition of his service to PlanRVA.

Chair Davis announced the PlanRVA has nominated Patricia Paige for the Gordon Dixon VAPDC Award and explained that the nomination was made to honor the outstanding service Ms. Paige provided to the Commission, the CVTA, the RRTPO and the entire region.

FY2024 Chair Reflections

Chair Levar Stoney, CVTA, shared his thoughts on the accomplishments of the CVTA and the region in the past year. He reported that to date, 700 million in CVTA funding has been generated for the region.

Chair Holland shared his thoughts on the accomplishments of the RRTPO over the past year and thanked his fellow board members for their service and vision. He noted the importance of transportation and education funding for the region.

Chair Davis introduced Mr. Steve Herring, Chair, EMACV, who shared his thoughts on the accomplishments of the Alliance over the past year.

Chair Davis shared his thoughts on last year's accomplishments for the Commission.

Adjournment

Chair Davis adjourned the meeting at 11:27 a.m.