





JOINT ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES

Central Virginia Transportation Authority (CVTA) PlanRVA Commission Richmond Regional Transportation Planning Organization (RRTPO) Policy Board

Thursday, June 1, 2023, 9:00 a.m.

PlanRVA James River Boardroom, 424 Hull Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23224

MEMBERS and ALTERNATES PRESENT (X):

Town of Ashland		Hanover County	
Kathy Abbott, PlanRVA		Sean M. Davis, CVTA, FY23 Chair,	X
		PlanRVA, RRTPO	
Anita Barnhart, RRTPO		W. Canova Peterson IV, CVTA, PlanRVA,	X
		RRTPO	
Brent Chambers, PlanRVA		Faye O. Prichard (A)	
John H. Hodges, CVTA, RRTPO,	Х	Charlie Waddell, PlanRVA	
Daniel McGraw, CVTA, PlanRVA	Χ	Randy Whitaker, PlanRVA	
Charles City County		Hanrica County	+
Charles City County	X	Henrico County	-
Byron M. Adkins, Sr., CVTA, PlanRVA, RRTPO	^	Greg Baka, PlanRVA	
William Coada, CVTA, PlanRVA, RRTPO		Thomas Branin, RRTPO	
		Tyrone Nelson, PlanRVA	
Chesterfield County		Patricia S. O'Bannon, CVTA, PlanRVA,	Х
		RRTPO	
Kevin P. Carroll, FY23 Chair, CVTA ,	Х	Frank J. Thornton, CVTA, PlanRVA, RRTPO	
PlanRVA, RRTPO			<u> </u>
Tim Davey, PlanRVA	Х	Melissa Thornton, PlanRVA	
Gloria Freye, PlanRVA	Х		
James Holland, PlanRVA	Х	New Kent County	
James Ingle, PlanRVA	Х	John Lockwood, CVTA, PlanRVA	X
Mark S. Miller, PlanRVA, RRTPO		Patricia A. Paige, CVTA, PlanRVA, RRTPO	Х
Christopher Winslow, CVTA, RRTPO, PlanRVA	X	Amy Pearson, PlanRVA	
		C. Thomas Tiller Jr., RRTPO	-
Goochland County			
Susan F. Lascolette, CVTA, RRTPO		Powhatan County	
John L. Lumpkins Jr., FY23 Chair, RRTPO	Х	Michael Byerly, CVTA, PlanRVA	
Neil Spoonhower, CVTA, PlanRVA	Х	Karen Carmack, RRTPO	
Charlie Vaughters, PlanRVA		Bobby Hall, PlanRVA	
		Steve McClung, CVTA, PlanRVA	
		David T. Williams, RRTPO	Х

MEMBERS and ALTERNATES PRESENT (X) continued:

City of Richmond		RideFinders	
Andreas D. Addison, PlanRVA, RRTPO	Х	Von S. Tisdale, RRTPO	Х
Ann Frances Lambert, PlanRVA		Cherika N. Ruffin, RRTPO	Х
Jacob Giovia, PlanRVA	Х		
Katherine L. Jordan, RRTPO	Х	RRTPO Community Transportation Advisory Committee (CTAC)	
Stephanie A. Lynch, PlanRVA, RRTPO		Lisa M. Guthrie, RRTPO	
Cynthia I. Newbille, PlanRVA, RRTPO		Sera Erickson, RRTPO	
Michael J. Jones, PlanRVA, RRTPO			
Kristen Nye, RRTPO		Senate of Virginia	
Rodney Poole, PlanRVA		Senator Ghazala F. Hashmi, CVTA	X
Ellen F. Robertson, PlanRVA, RRTPO			
Mayor Levar M. Stoney, CVTA		Virginia Department. of Aviation	
		Rusty Harrington, RRTPO	
Capital Region Airport Commission			
Perry Miller, CVTA		Virginia Department of Transportation	
John B. Rutledge, RRTPO		Stephen Brich, CVTA	
		Dale Totten, CVTA, RRTPO	X
Commonwealth Transportation Board		Mark E. Riblett, CVTA, RRTPO	X
Carlos M. Brown, CVTA			
		Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation	
Federal Highway Administration		Jennifer DeBruhl, CVTA	Х
Thomas L. Nelson Jr., RRTPO		Tiffany T. Dubinsky, RRTPO	
Ivan Rucker, RRTPO		Zach Trogdon, CVTA	
		Daniel Wagner, RRTPO	
Federal Transit Administration			
Daniel Koenig (Liaison), RRTPO		Virginia House of Delegates	
		Delegate Roxann Robinson, CVTA	
GRTC Transit System			
Sheryl Adams, CVTA, RRTPO		Virginia Port Authority	
Adrienne Torres, CVTA, RRTPO		Stephen Edwards, CVTA	
		Cathie Vick, CVTA	
RIC Metropolitan Transp. Authority		Barbara Nelson, CVTA	
Joi Taylor Dean, CVTA, RRTPO	Х		

CALL TO ORDER

Sean M. Davis, Chair, PlanRVA Commission, called the meeting to order at 9:03 a.m. Chair Davis introduced Kevin P. Carroll, Chair, CVTA, and John L. Lumpkins, Chair, RRTPO.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Chair Lumpkins.

WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Martha Shickle, Executive Director, PlanRVA, came forward and welcomed all attendees. Ms. Shickle introduced Bill Leighty, DecideSmart and moderator of the program.

CHAIR PANEL - WHY REGIONAL COOPERATION?

Mr. Leighty shared comments on the importance of regional cooperation. He opened a discussion with Chairs Carroll, Davis and Lumpkins on what surprised them most when they first became members of their respective boards and other aspects of serving on those bodies. Chair Davis remarked that the commitment of the commissioners and the depth of the commitment to regional cooperation struck him as commendable. Chair Lumpkins noted he was surprised about the amount of regional cooperation. Chair Carroll remarked on the importance of getting the word out to the public about what the Authority does.

The group discussed the work being done by the boards and some of the important developments, projects and accomplishments from the last year. The Chairs also discussed what their hopes are for the Chairs that will be in place for the next fiscal year.

A video was shared on some of the key accomplishments and projects in the region.

KEYNOTE SPEAKER

Chet Parsons, Director of Transportation, PlanRVA, introduced the Honorable W. Sheppard Miller, III, Secretary of Transportation, Commonwealth of Virginia, and keynote speaker for the program.

Secretary Miller addressed the group and shared thoughts on the cooperation that he has seen in the region. He described some of the key projects and accomplishments and noted the contributions of Carlos M. Brown of the Commonwealth Transportation Board to the CVTA.

SPECIAL PROGRAM - WHY RVA?

Chris Lloyd, McGuireWoods Consulting, gave a presentation on site selection. The presentation included information on guiding principles, how site selection is evolving, scoring matrix and later stage evaluation factors.

SPECIAL RECOGNITIONS

Bill Lawson, Vice Chair, Central Virginia Emergency Management Alliance, and Darshaun came forward and presented a New Outstanding Emergency Management Professional Award Stephen Nelson. Mr. Nelson expressed his appreciation to PlanRVA for the assistance he has received.

Ms. Shickle reported that PlanRVA was recognized in 2022 and 2023 for outstanding work in regional planning by the Virginia Association of Planning District Commission and the National Association of Development Association for its work to support the Emergency Management Alliance of Central Virginia in working to establishing the COVID-19 Emergency Response Fund. A video was shared on the partnership between the alliance and the Community Foundation to establish the fund.

Chair Davis called Chair Lumpkins and Patricia O'Bannon forward and commended them on their years of service to the boards.

David Blount, Executive Director, and Dwayne Tuggle, First Vice President, Virginia Association of Planning District Commissions, came forward and presented the 2023 Legislator of the Year Award to Delegate Delores McQuinn.

Chair Carroll announced an award that will be presented to Carlos M. Brown of the Commonwealth Transportation Board for his service to the CVTA.

Chair Lumpkins announced that awards are being given to David Williams and Cynthia I Newbille for their efforts at increasing awareness about cost estimates and overruns. M. Williams came forward to receive the award. Andreas Addison, Richmond City Council, accepted on Dr. Newbille's behalf.

Chair Davis presented Sarah Stewart, PlanRVA, with the PlanRVA Employee of the Year Award.

MEMBER COMMENTS and OTHER ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no member comments or other announcements made.

ADJOURNMENT

Chair Davis adjourned the meeting at 11:08 a.m.