

CENTRAL VIRGINIA TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY NOMINATING COMMITTEE

MEETING SUMMARY PlanRVA James River Board Room May 25, 2021

Members and Alternates Present:

| Jurisdiction/Agency | Member | Present | Absent |
|-----------------------|--------------------------|---------|--------|
| Town of Ashland | John H. Hodges | Х | |
| Hanover County | W. Canova Peterson | X | |
| New Kent County | Patricia A. Paige, Chair | X | |
| Powhatan County | David T. Williams | X | |

Others Present:

| Martha Heeter | PlanRVA |
|----------------|--------------------|
| Nicole Mueller | PlanRVA |
| Chet Parsons | PlanRVA |
| Eric Gregory | Hefty Wiley & Gore |

The Central Virginia Transportation Authority (CVTA) Nominating Committee meeting was held in person in PlanRVA's James River Board Room. The technology used for this meeting was YouTube Live Streaming and was open and accessible for participation by members of the public. A recording of this meeting is available on the Plan RVA YouTube Channel.

CALL TO ORDER

The Central Virginia Transportation Authority (CVTA) Nominating Committee Chair, Ms. Patricia Paige, presided and called the May 25, 2021 CVTA Nominating Committee (TAC) meeting to order at 12:09 p.m.

CERTIFICATION OF MEETING QUORUM

Nicole Mueller, Program Coordinator certified that a quorum was present.

1. Consideration of Amendments to the Action Meeting Agenda

There were no requested changes to the meeting agenda. Seeing and hearing no objections the May 25, 2021 agenda was approved by acclamation as presented.

2. CVTA Nominating Committee Chair's Opening Comments

Chair Paige expressed her appreciation for everyone joining the meeting in-person in PlanRVA's James River Board Room.

3. Overview of Process and Charge

CVTA Chair Thornton appointed the following members to the CVTA Nominating Committee:

- Patricia A. Paige, Chair of the CVAT Nominating Committee, New Kent County
- W. Canova Peterson, Hanover County
- John H. Hodges, Town of Ashland

• David T. Williams, Powhatan County

Committee members discussed the charge of the committee and Mr. Gregory advised as to the content of the Bylaws.

Per the CVTA Bylaws, the officers' (Chair and Vice-Chair) terms of office will expire at the end of June 2021 (or until their successors are elected). New officers are to be elected at the annual meeting, which is the regular meeting in July (See Bylaws, Art. IV(A)). Officers are eligible for reelection for an additional one-year term (See Bylaws, Art. III(B)). At the June Authority meeting, the Nominating Committee will submit a slate of officers (Chair and Vice-Chair) for election by the board.

On motion of W. Canova Peterson, seconded by David T. Williams, the CVTA Nominating Committee unanimously recommends the nomination of Frank J. Thornton as FY22 CVTA Chair and Kevin P. Carroll as FY22 CVTA Vice Chair.

This recommendation will be included as part of the election item in the July Authority meeting agenda.

The Committee also discussed the provisions of the Bylaws relating to membership of the Finance Committee. The Bylaws provide that the Finance Committee includes five (5) members of the Authority: three (3) of these members are representatives of the jurisdictions with the highest population (Chesterfield, Henrico and Richmond), while the remaining two (2) are to be appointed by the Authority.

The Nominating Committee recommends the Authority consider vesting responsibility with the Nominating Committee for recommendation of names of persons to serve in the two (2) seats of the Finance Committee to be appointed by the Authority, which would require an amendment to the Bylaws. Until such time, the Authority, as a body, holds responsibility for determining the persons who will serve on the Finance Committee in the two (2) open seats.

Chair Paige adjourned the meeting at 12:43 p.m. on May 25, 2021.

CAP/nm